Fremont Lookout Hike – Mt Rainier

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Fremont Lookout Hike – Mt Rainier

July 31 @ 7:00 am - 10:00 am PDT

Free

The two-story frame cabin of Mount Fremont, built in 1934, provides an opportunity to reminisce about the time when watchmen stood guard over the forest, with an eye out for wildfires.

From the lookout, take in sweeping views of Grand Park, Redstone Peak, Skyscraper Mountain and Berkeley Park. Bring binoculars to look for mountain goats and black bears in Grand Park, the meadow to the northwest of the lookout.

The trailhead starts at 6,400 feet elevation at Sunrise and climbs moderately a short distance to the top of Sourdough Ridge. Follow the Sourdough Ridge trail west to the five way trial intersection at Frozen Lake. From there, the trail to Mt. Fremont traverses the west side of a rocky ridge for another 1.3 miles to a fire lookout built in the 1930s.

Details

Date:
July 31
Time:
7:00 am - 10:00 am PDT
Cost:
Free

Venue

Fremont Lookout
Sunrise Park Rd
Ashford, WA 98304 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
360-569-2400
View Venue Website

Currently Registered

camiya bond Mandi Smith (mandismith)Colleen O\`Hagan (colleenohagan)Jason Monroe (jasonmonroe)Gabriel Juma (gabrieljuma)Joe Quezada (joequezada)Jennifer Joy (jenniferjoy)
jacob dailey (jacobdailey)frederick lynch (fredericklynch)randy fisher (randyfisher1)leroy nancarrow (leroynancarrow)Anthony Just (anthonyjust)Tyson Hiffman (tysonhiffman)